Product Certifications

NI products intended for sale and use globally comply with the applicable international requirements, such as product safety, EMC, and RoHS. NI products are generally covered by some or all of the following certifications and declarations.

Standards and Certification Descriptions


European Union Directives

The European Conformity (CE) marking is affixed to products to indicate compliance with all applicable European Union Directives. These directives may include the Low Voltage Directive (for products with input of 50 - 1,000 Vac or 75 - 1,500 Vdc), the EMC Directive, the RoHS Directive, the Radio Equipment Directive, the ATEX Directive, and potentially others.



Korean EMC Certification

Korea requires EMC testing and certification for many electronic products. Korean EMC certifications are issued by National Radio Research Agency (RRA). EMC testing includes electromagnetic interference (EMI) and susceptibility (EMS). Certified equipment is labeled with the KC mark and certification number.

Korean EMC Certification

Product Safety

North American Product Safety

Marks such as UL, CSA, and TUV indicate that a product has been tested by an independent product safety testing and certification organization and determined to have met the applicable requirements. Products are also periodically checked at the manufacturers' facility. Mark indicates compliance with U.S. (UL) and Canadian (CSA) safety standards such as, UL 61010-1 and CSA 61010-1.


European Union Product Safety Certification

Notified Bodies are accredited in Europe for product safety testing and certification according to European Norms (e.g., EN 61010-1 safety). The primary goal of the Notified Body is to protect the health of the consumer and to provide independent EU third-party support for suppliers' CE marking. Examples of Notified Bodies are Demko, VDE, and TUV. Notified Bodies are listed in the Official Journal of the European Communities (OJ).


Hazardous Locations

North American Hazardous Locations Certification

Marks such as UL, indicate that a product has been evaluated by a third party certification body for use in hazardous locations where explosive atmospheres may be present. NI CompactRIO (cRIO) products are cULus Listed and classified for use in the following hazardous locations, where marked: Class I, Division 2, Groups A,B,C,D T4 and Class I, Zone 2, AEx nA IIC T4 Gc & Ex nA IIC T4 Gc.


Ex - European Union Hazardous Locations Certification (ATEX)

The Ex Type Examination Certificate is a statement from an independent Notified Body verifying compliance with the essential requirements of EU Directive 2014/34/EU. NI CompactRIO products are Ex certified according to EN 60079-0/-15 for use in Zone 2 explosive atmospheres, where marked with type of protection II 3G Ex nA IIC T4 Gc

Demko ATEX


The IECEx Certificate of Conformity is a statement from a IECEx Certification Body (ExCB) verifying compliance with explosive atmospheres standards. NI Compact RIO (cRIO) products are IECEx certified according to IEC 60079-0/-15 for use in Zone 2 hazardous locations, where marked with type of protection Ex nA IIC T4 Gc


Marine Approval

Marine Approval

Marine Type Approval from an independent certification authority is a necessity for products which are used aboard sea-going ships and off-shore oil/gas platforms. Lloyd's Register (LR) and ABS are a certification of assessment by a third-party attesting to a product's conformity with national and international standards, and verification of the manufacturers production quality system. Marine Type Approval applies to products for use in marine and offshore applications, industrial plant and processes, and the information technology sector. In addition to ensuring the product meets appropriate safety standards for a marine environment, Marine Type Approval ensures that the products performance is maintained in marine environmental conditions.

Lloyd's Register

Functional Safety

Functional Safety

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) defines functional safety in the IEC 61508-0: 3.1 standard as “part of the overall safety that depends on a system or equipment operating correctly in response to its inputs.” In the article “IEC 61508 Explained,” the IEC further states, “Functional safety is the detection of a potentially dangerous condition resulting in the activation of a protective or corrective device or mechanism to prevent hazardous events arising or providing mitigation to reduce the consequence of the hazardous event.” Exida, a certifying agency for functional safety, states, “The goal of functional safety is to design an automatic safety function that will perform the intended function correctly or the system will fail in a predictable (safe) manner.” Performing the intended function is based on the reliability of the system, and failing in a predictable manner is based on the safety design of the system.