Table Of Contents

Uploading Files to Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3)

Version:
    Last Modified: August 31, 2020

    Configure SystemLink file service to store incoming data in Amazon Web Service (AWS).

    Create an AWS account and a bucket for your files in Amazon S3. To complete this task, you need your login credentials (access and secret keys), and the bucket name and region.
    spd-note-note
    Note  

    Interacting with Amazon S3 incurs fees with Amazon.

    1. In a file editor, open the JSON configuration file C:\ProgramData\National Instruments\Skyline\Config\FileIngestion.json on your SystemLink server.
    2. Specify the following settings in the config file:
      Setting Description
      "S3BackEndBucketRegion" Sets the AWS region where the bucket is located, for example, "us-east-1"
      "S3BackEndBucketName" Sets the name of the bucket in the specified AWS region, for example, "example-bucket"
      "S3BackEndAccessKeyId" Sets the credentials for an IAM user or the AWS account root user, for example, "AmazonUser"
      "S3BackEndSecretKey" The password associated with the user name, for example, "Amazon123$"
      "UseS3BackEnd"

      Enables / disables Amazon S3 as storage.

      "True" : Writes all files you upload to the File Service directly to Amazon S3 storage

      "False" : Writes all files you upload to the local storage (File Service)

    3. Save your settings and close the file.
    4. Open the NI SystemLink Server Configuration.
    5. On the NI SystemLink Service Manager tab, click Restart to apply the settings you made in the JSON file.
    The file service uploads all incoming files to the specified Amazon S3 bucket. File Viewer displays all files that enter the file service, including those in the Amazon S3 bucket. If you want to stop using your Amazon S3 bucket as a default file storage, repeat steps 1-5 and set "UseS3BackEnd" to "False" in step 2. You will still be able to open and download the files in the Amazon S3 bucket from the File Viewer if you retain the configuration settings. If you delete the config settings, File Viewer only retains the filenames.

    Recently Viewed Topics