Merging channels reserves the primary channel and merge channels for use in
the merge configuration you choose. To use merged channels independently again, you must
first unreserve them.
Complete the following steps to unreserve merged channels
and use the channels independently.
Do any of the following to unreserve merged channels:
The channels are now unreserved: you can now access them to
configure them independently of one another.
|Set the Merged Channels property to
"" for the primary channel and then call the
Commit With Channels function
||The channels stop sourcing current
- Call the Reset With Channels function on
the primary channel;
- Call the Disable function, if the session
is initialized with a single primary channel only; or
- Self-calibrate the instrument
|The channels stop sourcing current
|Call the Close function in a session that
includes the primary channel
||The channels continue to source current according to the merge
Configure the channel(s) independently as
Call the Commit With Channels function on the channels you
intend to use.
Committing the independent configuration unmerges the
channels and applies the independent configuration.
When you change the merge configuration upon calling Commit With
Channels, the outputs of all channels that were in the
previous merge configuration are disabled; this is equivalent to using the
Configure Output Enabled function to disable the
outputs of those channels.
The new merge configuration is applied at commit. You can
use each channel independently of the others (or in a new merge configuration), and each
channel may source current up to its normal per-channel or merged maximum. If the merge
configuration remains unchanged, the merged channels continue sourcing based on their
Once you have committed a new configuration to the
channels, call the Initiate With Channels
function to begin
sourcing according to your new configuration.